Novel

The other day I finished the first draft of my manuscript for, what I hope, will become a novel.  At the moment it has enough words to be a novella; my aim, when writing the draft, was to keep the story moving quickly enough in my head (but obviously not too quickly because I had to write it down) to maintain the momentum.

My next task is to undertake the first edit; I’m not sure what to concentrate on first.  I suppose consistency is something that would be better checked in the early stages.  (If I were to make additions to an inconsistency that would be a waste of time, both in writing it and then having to excise it)

Speaking of inconsistencies, there are a number of intentional “inconsistencies” that occur with the spelling of characters’ names: that is a technique I’ve used to highlight the communication problems between characters.  That is, the characters think they are talking about the same thing (or person) but, we as the reader, can see that this is not the case.


Leave a comment